PDA

View Full Version : Losing zero - regulary



Skunky
22-05-2004, 05:21 PM
Help!
I have a Tasco 3-9x40 Silver Antler.
Although the image is clear, I am very disapointed that It has to be re-zeroed every time I get the gun out!
Is this the norm for such scopes?
Anyone recomend a 40-50mm scope that is a bit more consistant for round bout 60 quid new?


Thank you:confused:

Jon Budd
22-05-2004, 05:26 PM
What rifle mate ?

Rgds,

JB

Skunky
22-05-2004, 05:32 PM
Its a HW95.
In .22.
I have to re zero on both axis!

bennyblanco
22-05-2004, 05:43 PM
if it has a silencer, take it off for a few days just to see. i was going to replace my 170 bushnell and it turned out to be a loose baffle

markbivvy
22-05-2004, 05:56 PM
could it be the scope is moving.?

Darren Petts
22-05-2004, 06:05 PM
What mounts are you using?

Shaggy
22-05-2004, 07:04 PM
my advice is either take it to the local shop or Club, I recon it's one of 3 things.

1 you aren't tighting the nuts on the mounts enough.

2 your rifle don't like the pellets you are using, how well does it group? once re-zeroed? try a diffrentn pellet & see if there's a difference?

3 your crosshairs had it, the Scope might not be rated for springers & you have shot it too bits

either way if you go to a shop or Club they should see you right, thou I recon it US (Useless)

Hope it helps

Darren

charlie K
22-05-2004, 08:46 PM
check your action to stock bolts!:rolleyes:
Best of luck,
charlie K.

Jon Budd
22-05-2004, 08:55 PM
Is it innacurate, or is the zero moving - two completely different things (although clearly the latter will "effectively" case the former - but you can normally tell the difference).

You need double clamp mounts, (or a one piece), preferably with an arrestor stub.

What mounts and scope ?

JB

Skunky
23-05-2004, 03:12 PM
Scope is Tasco 3-9x40 silver antler
Mounts are double clamp
everything is tight and not moving.
Could it be the crosshairs adjusting themselves in between?

POK!
23-05-2004, 04:57 PM
Check mounts, stock screws, barrel lock-up. Borrow another scope or try yours on another rifle

napier
23-05-2004, 05:21 PM
a loose silencer or inards can have this effect to....check the stock mounts ..a loose rifle may move in the stock..again changing zero...its a case of checking every things tight..

JJSTEALTH
23-05-2004, 08:59 PM
ive just took my 3-9 scope off my skan,
it was in need of sighting in again:mad: but only after i started clicking the thing,
pellet on pellet,quick tinker, then flyers all over the place ,well, 2"groups:( ,
i put my old scope back on and the things fine,
i think its time to go shopping for a new scope :eek:
JASON..

Skunky
25-05-2004, 06:49 PM
Thanks guys.
Going to start again and go back to basics.
Check everything is tight etc.
I thought it could be faulty scope?
Might try an arrestor block first.