Thread: shooting advice

running round the wild's of somerset in a pink rom

shooting advice

i would class my self as a good shot,but when it comes to standing shots im not so great,im ok but would like a to be better

luckly 90% of my shots are kneeling or rested

what are our tips for staying steady

wiggles
    theoben sirocco .177 hawke nite eye 3-9x50 >clicky<

the moose(new picture) >clicky<

Contrary to what you might have heard, game animals are not hard to kill. No warm-blooded animal can live without a heart, except for the possible exceptions of ex-wives

don't drink that 'lucky bottle of whisky' before you go out

I'm not very good at standing shots but I am slowly improving. I have accepted that I cannot hold the rifle still. The trick I am trying to learn is to just be in as much control as possible of the movement, and predict when the cross hair is going to be on target and time the trigger function appropriately. A good predictable trigger is very important and a fast lock time helps as well

Practice!!!

on a serious note..... about 95% of my shots are taken standing. if you can find a tree/gate/fencepost to rest your body against it will help.

try to slow your breathing to lower your heart rate. never walk for ages without taking short breaks, keep your arms as well rested as possible,

train while watching telly!!!!! get some weights that are equivalent to your rifle and hold them out in front of you for 30 seconds at a time (while your sitting on the sofa IS fine!!) arms straight. keep doing reps of about 5 in 5 minutes, rest for 10 minutes. another set etc..... it will build up the muscle endurance in your arms thus meaning that for the 10 seconds you've got the rifle shouldered, your arms and joints are used to the strain so you should be able to keep the rifle a lot steadier

With standing shots, I find wobble tends to come more from legs than arms/shoulders.

Don't stand.