Thread: Pellet size

imnotparanoid Guest

Pellet size

Does anyone know what the tolerance is on the size of .177 pellets (I am currently using JSB Exacts).
    I've been shooting FT now for a couple of years and sizing and lubing for a year or so, I've stopped short of weighing them, (you know who you are you sad boys I know I know I'm just as sad) however it has struck me when sizing a tin of pellets, (some drop through others are tight), there must be some sort of tolerance, for example is a tin of 4.51s guaranteed to be 90% 4.51s? if not what's the point of stating the size down to 100ths of a millimetre?.

Funnily enough, I weigh, but don't size 'em..! I've always thought the probe pushing the pellet into the breech is a self-sizing process. Weight can make a lot of difference at 55 yards.

Gus
    The ox is slow, but the earth is patient.

imnotparanoid Guest
    Oh no now i've got to get some scales.
    Does anyone know the tolerance on the weight of .177 pellets

Anything from 8.32- 8.8grn, I have had them outside these weights, but usualy bin them.

imnotparanoid Guest
    "......I've always thought the probe pushing the pellet into the breech is a self-sizing process. "

I shoot a Steyr (no probe) hence sizing will continue.
    Seriously what range of weights do you get? I've heard of 9.4gr JSB Exacts.

What would the extra drop at 55 yards actually be if an 8.4gr pellet weighed 8.6gr?

Just cos I'm paranoid doesn't mean the bustards arent out to get me (No I don't mean the great big F Off birds on Salisbury Plain).

imnotparanoid Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by El Tel
    Anything from 8.32- 8.8grn, I have had them outside these weights, but usualy bin them.
    Keep em Tel I'll ave em on Sunday
    Last edited by imnotparanoid; 03-09-2006 at 08:06 PM.

i wieght my daystates to between 8.39 and 8.49 and i dont size YET the heaviest daystate i have had is 8.8grains
    ford focus. 133bhp 262ft/ib of torque
    anshutz 8002