Thread: What load?

Leyland in darkest Lancashire. HERE BE DRAGONS

What load?

I've just bought a Pietri Remington .44 calibre cap and ball revolver and am looking for a starting point for loads, as I have never used this type of weapon before.

How does 25 gr (weight) FFFg sound for starters?

Also, I believe that the chambers have to be sealed with grease to prevent flashovers and chain firing. What is the preferred sealant nowadays?
    The biggest problem facing this country today is not the terrorist. It's the politician.

The Bosun's Watch

Hi,

over here 1.6 grain per mm barrel-diameter (Caliber) is regarded as a good point to start with on short guns ( pistols & revolvers). What means about 18 grain in your case. Personally I've found that those guidelines are a little bit to low but its better to start low and add, than to start to high.
    Also there are some differences from label to label. I prefer Swiss BP for its fast, while others prefer slower BP for its softer whilst shooting.

Cheers Jochen
    Indeed she said tie me up and do what ever you like and so I did. I tied her to the bed and went out fishing

Jochen

Thanks for your response Jochen, I appreciate it.
    The biggest problem facing this country today is not the terrorist. It's the politician.

The Bosun's Watch

The originals shot bullets rather than balls, the bullets came c/w powder wrapped in greased paper, you simply stuck it in the chamber then rammed. Except Adams who wrapped in metal foil, you had to pop the back end off to expose tissue paper beneath.

OTOH, original chambers were tapered to give a tight fit, repro's are cylindrical. Don't ask me why. You know you have the right bullet mould for an original when the bullet tip is a perfect fit in the end of the rammer.