Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hi all!

Hi all!

Just joined the site and looking for some advice

I bought an airpistol from a family friend about 12 years ago I guess. I'd never had a gun before but I was living in the country and fancied shooting some cans and targets out the back as we had no neighbours.

Anyway, it's an HW45 which I believe is a good pistol? I just loved the way it looked and felt in the hand, felt like quality! Anyway, it's been tucked away in the original box for about 11 years and I found it the other day and it re-kindled that desire to have a got at target shooting. So I'm thinking of visiting the local airgun club for a chat and to see what goes on.

Looking at the gun it still looks mint, and smells nice I haven't even shot half a tin of pellets through it since I've had it. Is there a way to work out how old the gun is?

Anyway, I need advice on cleaning, bearing in mind I'm new to this and never done anything with mine. What needs cleaning, lubricating etc... What do you use and where do you get it?

Appreciate any help

a club visit is a good start, someone will not only tell you how to keep the pistol tidy, they will show you too!!!

the hw45 has a very good reputation as a pistol and they are well made, to age them, i think you just email weihrauch direct with the serial number and they should get back to you with an approximate manufacture date.

if you get into the target shooting malarky - Pad.E has organised a postal competition for the bbs's pistol shooters so even if the club scene isn't for you, you can still have a go and see how you fare against others and judge your progress the more you shoot!

good luck with it!

hi there and welcome to the bbs.you find everything you need to know about the hw45 here

http://my.tbaytel.net/~coopers@tbaytel.net/HW45Review/

personaly i would never have one, but if our going to sell it give me first shout lol.

atb jamie