Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: S&W best pellet?

S&W best pellet?

HI all i bought myself a steel finish s&w 6 inch revolver. While plinking in the garden using any old pellets around, i realised that thisis an incredibly accurate bit of kit great for targeting etc! (for fun of course) any way im new to co2 guns, and can anyone say the best pellet type for these bits of kit?

Thanks all Rich.

Hi Rich,

The Umarex guns love RWS Hobby, and they're cheap as chips too. The lads who entered July's target pistol competition with their Smiths both used H&N Match Kugeln however, and Cookie got a very respectable score indeed with that combination.

Plenty of others, myself included, use Hobby in the CO2 section of the competition, so why not buy a tin of both and make your own mind up?

Hope that helps,

Mike.

Hobbies.

Yep. Hobbies in mine too. £2.95 for 500. I've tried Air Arms Fields too with good results.

Chris.
    Far too many rifles & pistols to mention here.

cool, ill see if i can get the hobbies. Are all rws (7-7.9) good? i know they do a co2 pell is that any good? also why are most co2 pells flat heads?? As for the a.a. im trying to get them for my ev2. In essex they seem hard to get along with jsbs. Pleae keep the info comeing, its a great help, thanks.

The wadcutter (flat-head) pellets tend to work better in the Umarex rotary mags because they can be seated inside the chambers of the mags: no protrusion means no jams.

The round-headed types like Accupells work well too, but because they're heavier, expect a significant POI shift compared to the lighter Hobbies.

Pointed pellets are a no-no due to the risk of protrusion causing feed jams, graunchy mag indexing and possibly mangled pellets; they are no more aerodynamic than other types despite their sleeker looks!

RWS Hobby or Geco. Both perform well and the price is right!
    Walther CP-2 Match, FAS 604 & Tau 7 target pistols, Smith & Wesson 6" & 4" co2 pistol, Crosman 1377,