Thread: Webley service Mk 2 .177

Webley service Mk 2 .177

I have a Webley Service which cocks but won't fire because the barrel can't be located and closed. A catch under the barrel prevents it from going fully down. I am a complete novice so Help! Are there any Webley Service Experts out there who can tell me what's wrong and how easy (expensive) is it to fix? Many thanks guys

Quote Originally Posted by davidmb View Post
    I have a Webley Service which cocks but won't fire because the barrel can't be located and closed. A catch under the barrel prevents it from going fully down. I am a complete novice so Help! Are there any Webley Service Experts out there who can tell me what's wrong and how easy (expensive) is it to fix? Many thanks guys
    Most of these old classics can be repaired cheaply and in some cases the under barrel catch as you call it has been removed or lost over the years. PM on its way

The catch under the barrel you refer to, is known as the interceptor sear or 'Anti Bear-Trap device' and is a safety feature that should prevent the rifle being accidentally fired until the barrel is secured in the breech housing.
    It should be spring tensioned at the rear so that the front end engages the piston when the barrel is in other than the closed position, and should release when the barrel is lowered and engages the back end, thus releasing the front end from the piston.
    If you lift the barrel away from the breech housing without actually cocking the rifle, and remove the barrel, you should be able to move the interceptor sear quite easily against it's spring, as it pivots on a pin that is a friction fit between the two lugs on the cylinder.
    Last edited by Troubledshooter; 23-08-2008 at 12:07 AM.

be careful with this it could be that there is a problem with the sear and someone has tried to cock the gun
    if this is the case then the intercepter sear will be holding the weight of the mainspring