Thread: Ruger Old Army

Ruger Old Army

Hi,
    I am new to BP and I am about to put in for my FAC. One of the guns I have taken a shine to is the Ruger Old Army (haven't tried one yet but they look nice)
    I heard that they have stopped making them, is this correct? They seem to be showing them on their web site.
    I don't want to go after a gun I can't get parts for, especially as my first gun is likely to be second hand.
    Cheers,
    Blackrat

HI, I am new to this forum but would like to comment on your post. There must be zillions of spare parts for the ROA, plenty in your lifetime and your great great great grandchildren. Get one, they are built like a tank and will shoot really well. I have one of the original stainless models, bought third hand. It has a four digit serial number. Plus a holster, in its original box, made by Bianchi.

Ruger old army.

Sorry to say you have heard right. They have stopped making the old army.
    They can still be found both new and second hand but i wouldnt worry about bits though. Talking to the black powder guys at our local club, no one has ever heard of one breaking even so much as a spring. Get one while you can and enjoy it while you can! In fact if you know where theres a stainless target version going in good condition, let me know. I would love another one.

Hi Tim,
    Thanks for the reply. Do you know if it is possible to get parts if they are needed?

Spare parts

Yes plenty of spare available. Midway stock a good selection.

Hi Wobly,
    Thanks for the info, another good shop for me to bookmark

Blackrat

For what it's worth don't choose a pistol 'cause you like the look of it. Try as many different ones as you can (Remmys, Colts etc.) before you finally decide.

If the BP pistoleers at your club are like those at mine they'll happily let you have a few trial shots with their gun.

Hi John,