Thread: Hi there, first Air Pistol?

Hi there, first Air Pistol?

Hi there =)

Just to say hello, my names Ben and I'm from Leicester =D

I'm new to the world of Air Pistols, and am looking for a decent started model. I had this one in mind: http://www.sportsmk.co.uk/item/399/ (Baikal Makarov MP-654K).

Any opinions on this perticular model, or could you reccomend any better?

Thanks,

Ben

Jim McArthur is offline Frock coat wearing, riverboat dwelling, southern gent
    BB pistols are fun plinkers, Ben, but not accurate enough for competition, even "fun" comps like our Umarex Boys Club (you MUST join!) runs here.

Many like the HW 40. I have the "sold in America" version of it, and it is accurate and has great sights and trigger, but is too lightweight (about 28 ounces) for me to hold it steady.

For Co2's, probably the best is the Umarex Smith 586 / 686. I love mine! It's great for police comps and double action shooting. It doesn't have a great single action trigger, and at about 44 ounces is too heavy for me for single hand shooting, but is perfect with two hands!

Some like the HW 70, a springer.

Are you most interested in informal comps? Knocking over tin cans in your backyard? Formal 10 meter competition? Is power a consideration? Do you want it to look like a cartridge pistol? NOT look like a cartridge pistol?

Air pistols really run the gamut, from kid's toys to precision shooting instruments costing thousands of dollars or pounds, and use of them runs the gamut too, from plinking to an Olympic sport.

Jim
    UBC's Police Pistol Manager
    "Nasty, noisy things, revolvers, Count. Better stick to air-guns." Sherlock Holmes, The Adventure of the Mazarin Stone

barrel is offline Work is the refuge of people who have nothing better to do

FOOD FOR THOUGHT