Thread: Cleaning Ruger Old Army

Cleaning Ruger Old Army

I am very new to this. I've recently bought a secondhand ROA (blued) and need some advice on cleaning it. I use Pyrodex P.

So far I've been removing plunger (is that what it's called?) and cylinder and soaking them in hot soapy water and cleaning with bronze brush and cotton mop. I do the same with the barrel, but haven't done anything with the lockwork.

Is this OK?

I am worried about putting the whole thing into soak, but I am also worried that gunk might be building up in the lockwork.

Been oiling with olive oil - is this OK?

Do I need to grease anything - if so where and what should I use?

Also I remove the nipples and give them a good clean, but been told that I shouldn't take them off as it causes wear - any views?

Thanks
    Last edited by ANDY T; 28-04-2009 at 08:57 PM.

I have the 51/2" stainless one and clean it pretty much as you do. Remove the cylinder and the grips. Drop the cylinder into hot soapy water to soak while i clean the gun with a round paint brush. I dont dunk the whole gun, just the barrel while i clean the frame with the brush holding the butt of the grip area. I do wash out between the hammer and the frame so i suppose some water must get into the action. I have a piece of round nylon belting with scotchbrite glued to it to scrub the barrel out. Then i clean the cylinder with the brush around the nipple area and internally with the nylon thingy. Nipples are only removed every 4/5th cleaning session.
    I use a cheapy asda hair dryer (£4)to dry it out then scrub the bore with a dry swab, spray everything with a good soaking of wd40. The cylinder pin is greased, the cylinder and grips are refitted and the whole thing is wiped down with a dry rag. Job done. The Rogers and spencer i remove the grips and the cylinder and drop the whole thing in the water which has worked well for 8 years now but the Ruger is so shiny and new looking i figure if i look after it it will out live me!