Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 777 advice

777 advice

I have just bought a Parker Hale 3 band Enfield .577 and was thinking of using 777 as I have a good supply of this powder (I use it in my Ruger Old Army). The powder I have is FFFG.
    Can anyone tell me if this is okay for the 577. The previous owner used 50gn of Swiss for shooting 100 metres so I thought 40 gn (all by weight) of 777 would be about right. My club range is only 50 metres. Or, should I be buying something like Pyrodex? I have no black powder licence so a propellant is preferable. I am a complete beginner with a muzzle loading rifle so deadly accuracy isn't a consideration.
    Any help or advice would be much appreciated.

Hi Dave

Hopefully TAC will come along with a better answer than I am about to give - but I'm sure 777 is too fine for a rifle I know TAC also shoots Pyrodex & not BP.

I am using either TS2 BP or 777 in my Pietta & Ruger OA & use a 'medium' grade black powder (from Peter Starley) in my 3 band (experimenting with 65gn loads at the moment.

777 measures by vol - but with such a small grain - you are likely to get too much oomph IMHO

TAC where are youuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu ?

Roy

Nossir - this propellant is totally unsuitable for the .577 anything - especially in such a fine grain size. The real thing used Fg.

Large calibre replica or genuine muzzleloaders shoots tend not to shoot a Minie bullet with much degree of success when trying to equal the original BP load. Big loads of 777 can blow the centre out of the bullet, leaving the skirt in the bore for you to find next time you load it up. Preventing the bullet from being seated on the charge can have catastrophic effects when next fired. A bulged barrel can be the very least of your worries.

The previous owner knew what he was doing, IMO, so my advice to you is to replicate HIS loads, not try and get centre-fire rifle performance out of a 170-year old design.

You may, of course, ignore this advice.

tac