Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Stoke Mandeville summary thread.

Stoke Mandeville summary thread.

I'm just going to dump a few pics etc in here at the moment, then tidy it up once I've got the core of it pasted.

Watch this space......
    Last edited by delta1; 25-06-2009 at 05:55 PM.
    "Improvise, adapt and overcome."

I can count to potato.

This is Terry's post that kicked the whole thing off; 17th June 2007.

" I went to Stoke Mandeville today..
    ...and came away thoroughly ashamed of myself.

I was ashamed that, as I drove into the hospital sports complex, the magnificent, state-of-the-art building on my left contrasted so starkly with the leaky, draughty, smelly, 1940s Nissen hut on my right that housed the disabled shooters.

I was ashamed that, as a representative of my sport, I hadn't been aware of this disgraceful disparity between the facilities enjoyed by other disabled sports people, and those endured by the disabled shooters.

I was ashamed as I studied the 'facilities' the disabled shooters have, the leaking toilets, the lack of heating, the buckets meant for the collection of funds now pressed into service as drip-catchers and many other things I can't publicise.

I was ashamed that this is the national centre for disabled shooters, from where our representatives at the Paralympic Games and other championships must come - and somehow do, despite the awful state of the place.

Most of all, though, I was deeply ashamed of the times I've moaned and bleated about my own medical problems over the past year, when all around me were people of all ages enjoying their sport and staying positive, with only a fraction of the advantages I have, and so many more challenges than I've ever faced.