Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Eley ammo

Eley ammo

I am fairly new to target shooting, having spent several years vermin shooting.

My main interest is 25 yard .22 target. I have just been included in a team or two.

I was told by someone that Eley club were fine for practice and of course cheaper than Match. I bought 400 and have been trying them out. The results with my rifle have been all over the place and I thought that it must be me. After the last session of rubbish cards, I got down and used some Match instead. The first shot was slightly low but on centre. a couple of clicks up and three in the bull. Moved to the next target and 5shots took the centre out of the target.

I am assuming that either the club ammo is not very good or that my rifle just does better with the Match. What does anyone else think?

My rifle is an Anschutz match 54, which I love and IMO will out shoot me forever.

Bob G

Match is of course a better grade than Club and goes through better quality control than Club, so each round should be more consistent compard to the one next to it. It also has the patented EPS nipple which punches a cleaner hole in the paper.

You've fallen into the trap of thinking Match is Match is Match.
    If you look on the end, there should be two lines of numbers. The top one is the batch number, the bottom (four digit) number is the speed in fps. It's normally somewhere between 1020 and 1080.
    Eley deliberately vary these because some rifles like fast ammo, some like slow. It's to do with any number of factors - barrel length, weight, harmonics, crown condition, wear on the rifling (ok, the last two will affect all ammo, but some speeds will deal with it better than others).