Thread: Non-firing replica: how defined?

Jim McArthur is offline Frock coat wearing, riverboat dwelling, southern gent

Non-firing replica: how defined?

A UK shooter asked if I could find him a non-firing, replica flintlock pistol that he could use as a wall hanger.

One piece I came across was advertised as being non-firing: but the only difference between it and the firing version is that the vent hole is not drilled.
    If you were to drill it out, it would be a FAC firearm.

So my question is: how would UK law define this particular piece? Is it treated like a dectivated firearm or a non-firing replica? Or is it a controlled firearm?

Jim
    UBC's Police Pistol Manager
    "Nasty, noisy things, revolvers, Count. Better stick to air-guns." Sherlock Holmes, The Adventure of the Mazarin Stone

I would be interested to know too, as I came across similar pieces on a US site and quite fancied one.

I'm no legal expert but my guess is it would be ok, as in its current state it's not capable of being fired and is therefore a non-firing replica. It never has been capable of firing therefore it's not a deactivated firearm. The original firearm of which it's a replica was designed before 1873 (think that's the date) so it's not a RIF (realistic imitation firearm) under the VCRA.
    “We are too much accustomed to attribute to a single cause that which is the product of several, and the majority of our controversies come from that.” - Marcus Aurelius

Hello, Adam: great to see you here in the Charcoal section! If it turns out you're correct, I'd be glad to help you obtain any such item from the US.

My initial reaction - and this is PURE guess and speculation - was the opposite of yours. My logic was that since it isn't a once-operable firearm that's been properly deactivated in accordance with legal standards, but rather a firearm intended for use, but just lacking that last step: the law would consider it an operable firearm.