Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Which air pistol for centerfire pistol practice?

Which air pistol for centerfire pistol practice?

Hello everyone, and thank you in advance for your help and suggestions.

I am new to the wonderful world of airguns, but have been shooting centerfire and rimfire guns for a while. I am looking to buy an air pistol for backyard practice (stance, trigger control, etc.) and am wondering what you all would recommend.

My absolute price limit is $150-$200 (£99-£130, it my math is correct ), though less certainly is good.

Right now I am considering the Crossman 1377, Gamo Compact, Beeman P3, IZH 53M, and Diana P5, but I am certainly open to other suggestions. I think I would prefer either a single stroke pneumatic or a springer so that I won't have to get scuba tanks or CO2, though I'm not sure (rapid fire might be useful). Also, I'm not a huge fan of multi-stroke pneumatics (the 1377), because of increased time between shots, but if it's the best option, I can make due.

My primary goal is to find a pistol which is reliable (hence the absence of the Marksman 2004/P17 from my list), and which is fairly accurate out to 10 or 15 meters. Also, something fairly quiet would be nice (don't want to freak out the neighbors!). I will not be using this for hunting or anything, so extreme fps is not required except for accuracy/distance.

Again, thanks for your help!

-John

I've never fired a centrefire pistol, but I gather that they are pretty "lively" and also usually have heavy triggers.

An air pistol with very light trigger and no recoil would not appear to offer decent practice for centrefire.

My suggestion would be the Baikal IZH 53M. Inherently accurate, if not "target" standard. Is not too light. Has recoil, ie. not totally inert, (as is an SSP) and the trigger is moderately heavy. The price should be right in the states too. The engineering is a little rustic, benefitting from a strip and de-burr, but the 53 will last a lifetime.