Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: value of BP pistols

urx is offline 2,602.00 GBP −10.00 (0.38%) at the close

value of BP pistols

first off, total newbie as far as black powder goes so dont assume I know anything no matter how basic

Anyway, I was visiting a friend that is an RFD a couple of days ago and having a rummage through his stock to see what interesting things there were.
    a pair of Ruger old army pistols (adjustable sights if I recall correctly) one in stainless and one in blue. Stainless one looked standard.
    The blued one has had a nitro/shotgun primer conversion done. looked quite sympathetic too
    Both these were .45

Also there was a Rodgers and Spencer .44 which looked hardly used.

Obviously no idea what I'd be looking for on these as negotiating points or even what value to start at....

Any pointers and valuations welcome...
    Gun control means using both hands.

I paid £450 for a ROA recently, SS with Target sights. Do touch anything that is Not Stainless steel as it rusts & is a nightmare to clean.Look at the screws in the side. If they have been butchered by use of a wrong sized screwdriver, not good. If the cylinder has been damaged by fanning and nipples by dry firing, not good, If the cylinder moves alot on the center pin, not good. Otherwise they are going up in value & are fun to shoot. My prefers ball and 21 grains Swiss No 3

Quote Originally Posted by robkayak View Post
    Do touch anything that is Not Stainless steel as it rusts & is a nightmare to clean.
    Sorry I dont agree, as long as you clean as soon as you have finished shooting, dry and give a light oiling before storing you will not have a problem with non stainless guns.

£350 to £450 for the Rugers and upto £175 for the Rogers if in GOOD cond.