Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: The decade's best

The decade's best

What is the best rifle of each decade/era?

Let's say:

Pre WW1
    The inter-war years
    The 1940s
    The 1950s
    The 1960s
    The 1970s
    The 1980s
    The 1990s (or is that a bit recent?)

What do we mean by best? Whatever we want it to mean - best handling, looking, feeling, functioning, most innovative.

I'm no expert but I'll have a crack at a couple:

The 1940s - It surely must be the BSA Airsporter.
    The 1950s - To ignore the HW35 would be an injustice beyond comprehension.

What to the esteemed members think?

1970's belongs to Feinwerkbau - Sport, 300 and 65 at their peak and utterly dominant in their disciplines.
    1980's - HW77 showed what was needed for the new sport of FT. New CO2 pistols from Walther and FWB set 10m records that are still competitive today.

Quote Originally Posted by Powderfinger View Post
    1970's belongs to Feinwerkbau - Sport, 300 and 65 at their peak and utterly dominant in their disciplines.
    1980's - HW77 showed what was needed for the new sport of FT. New CO2 pistols from Walther and FWB set 10m records that are still competitive today.

I remember the AGW adverts by ASI for Feinwerkbau Match kit ' Even the Russians choose Feinwerkbau' - classic

Gareth W-B is offline Retired Mod & Airgun Anorak Extraordinaire
    Oh, these type of threads are great. Right then, for what its worth, my list would be as follows:

Pre WW1 -- BSA/L-J Mod-H without a doubt.

The inter-war years -- Webley & Scott Service MkII Series I, II & III (the latter being made en-mass in '38ish for sale/distributing over the ensuing years which turned out to be the war years).

The 1940s -- As it snuck in at the tail end of this decade, yep, will give this one to the BSA Airsporter MkI.

The 1950s -- HW 35, all day long, and then some (a real land mark rifle on so many levels).