Thread: New to target shooting Bad grouping?

New to target shooting Bad grouping?

Hi my names mike i have just baught bsa lighting xl tactical today .22 i shoot left hand but gun feels comfortable even though its right hand, and fitted it with a richter optic 3-9x50 scope took me a while to site in but with it resting quite firm i got my grouping in about a 25cm target but not always spot on though some strays is this good?. but when i rest on something holding the gun my groups are well off can some times get two together but mostly about 2inch apart from about 10meters and 25 meters is the same. Like i say im new to shooting did a little bit when a kid about 10 years ago but just got gun today and fired off about 250-300 shots. Will my grouping get better maybe my gun setup is wrong?. Or when target shooting should you not put the cross hair on target rather offset it abit to compensate for recoil movement or am i being stupid some advise about it all would be much appriciated as alot of you seem like very good shooters reading through the site cheers for now and thanks in advance. mike.

Hello.

Perhaps we can narrow thing down a bit.

First of all, have you cleaned the bore?

What pellets are you using?

Is the scope set up level on the rifle and have you have set your zero?

Are all the stock screws tight?

Is the scope lose in its mounts or are the mounts lose on the action?

Shooting a spring air rifle consisently accurately at, say more than 25 yards is probably one of the most difficult shooting to do. The Lightning makes this more so as it's quite a harsh rifle when shot and the trigger isn't the best.

If everything seems o.k, then practice, practice and more practice.

Chris.
    Far too many rifles & pistols to mention here.

Quote Originally Posted by cinstone View Post
    Hello.

Perhaps we can narrow thing down a bit.

First of all, have you cleaned the bore?

What pellets are you using?