Thread: Help requested!

Help requested!

Gents,
    I would appreciate some advice.
    I am just about to submit a variation for a black powder rifle and would welcome some advice on what types/brands of rifle I should be researching. I will be using the rifle on ranges from 50mtrs to 200 mtrs.
    At this point I should mention I am a novice as far as black powder is concerned!
    Should I consider a flintlock or are they more trouble that they are worth for a “beginner” to black powder?
    If it’s a percussion rifle what types should I research bearing in mind I am a complete beginner (from a black powder perspective)?
    I want to get my variation in but obviously need to specify a calibre should I go with 0.45? or 0.577? or not worry too much at this stage and rely on a one for one variation when I find a suitable rifle?
    Any advice would be welcome!
    Regards
    Lansdown

I would have a look on the pedersoli web site to see what you like the look of first.

davederrick is offline With our thoughts, we make the world
    Depends on how much "fun" you want to have As you say - real flintlocks can be a pain to get firing properly if your flint isn't up to it, be prepared for loads more tools, e.g. flint knapping hammer, as if BP shooters didnt already have enough kit to carry ! Percussion is a lot less hassle.

Also do some homework on the range where you want to shoot it. The range certificate may have limits on the calibre, some I go to wont allow a .577. Muzzle velocity limits may also apply, but probably wont affect BP shooters.
    "I'm all in favour of keeping dangerous weapons out of the hands of fools. Lets start with typewriters." - Frank Lloyd Wright (1867-1959)

Help requested

Hi
    I have been shooting blackpowder guns for a number of years and I still don't know which is the best one to have. They are good fun though and interesting.