Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Should I give up on pistols?

Should I give up on pistols?

I've been shooting air pistol for nearly 2 years now. I've worked quite hard at it but my scores are stuck in the 530's at best. Today I shot smallbore prone rifle at 25 yds for the first time in 18 months (and I've only done it a few times ever). I shot 10 shots to zero - then two cards. First was 97, second was 98. Seems to me that I'm way better at rifle than pistol.

I wonder if I should ditch the pistol.

U.

The question is, why are you doing it. ?

If you just want to do something that you can win at probably go for rifle, if you enjoy perfecting something that you are not so good at stay with pistol or go with rifle and perfect it till you hit 100 every time.

I see people all the time fixated on winning and really holding themselves back in the process.

I picked up an air pistol for the first time last Nov and have never been close to a 530. 260 in a half match and 512 in a full match.

I am showing improvement and enjoying it, in the last .22 rifle bench rest match I shot 199/200 and got a nice silver trophy to keep for a whole year and a little naff plastic thing to keep forever

But if I had to give something up it wouldn't be air pistol

br22

Urban,

Have you had any pistol coaching? and if yes by who? ie club level coach, county level coach, national coach etc...?

Remember that prone rifle is much easier than pistol, it takes more effort to become a good pistol shooter than it does to become a good prone shot.

Ad

Quote Originally Posted by AD_K View Post
    Remember that prone rifle is much easier than pistol, it takes more effort to become a good pistol shooter than it does to become a good prone shot.
    Well, that depends on how you measure.
    If you measure by how difficult it is to get into A-class or X-class, then they're equally difficult.