Thread: Walther Luftpistole model 53

Walther Luftpistole model 53

I am new to this site and want to say hello and wish you all well. It seems this forum is the one to go to for information about airguns. I have an 8 year old and will be teaching him how to handle himself around guns, gun ranges, and hunting in a few years. He is a Cub Scout and part of their growth involves archery and marksmanship.

To accomplish this, I am getting two airguns; a rifle with adjustable sights and scope and a handgun with adjustable sights. I think it is important to know how to sight in a weapon; it will be part of his education in this matter. Since I am relatively new to airguns, I am not versed in the manufacturers who make them. Good, Bad, ugly, functional? What would you get? Why? I am thinking about getting a .22 cal, 800 fps, single shot in a rifle and .22 cal, 600 fps, multi-shot for a pistol. What would you recommend?

Thank you in advance for your input.

I look forward to the back and forth.

Regards,

George

Gareth W-B is offline Retired Mod & Airgun Anorak Extraordinaire
    Hi George, and welcome to the BBS. Am going to move this thread to the General Airgun section, as feel you will get a better set of suggestions there . Atb: G.

Done my bit for the BBS: http://www.airgunbbs.com/showthread....-being-a-mod-… now I’m a game-keeper turned poacher.

I'm guessing you're in the U.S? Corinth (Vermont?).

I only ask because the velocities you mention would almost certainly require a firearms certificate for the rifle in the UK, and the pistol would be banned. Hence it has some bearing on what people will recommend as will availability in your locality.

ps. Welcome to the BBS

Which airguns to buy??

Quote Originally Posted by 18 Wheeler View Post
    I'm guessing you're in the U.S? Corinth (Vermont?).