Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First gun a black powder revolver - Pietta 1858 Remington

First gun a black powder revolver - Pietta 1858 Remington

Hi all,

I am new to shooting and should be getting my license shortly. I managed to pick up a 1858 Remington .44 by Pietta secondhand which my local dealer should have today.

My first question is does anyone have a Pietta 1858 with a silver trigger guard? I was wondering was this something just done on deluxe models? I picked it up quite cheap so im assuming its just the basic model but would be nice if it turns out to be a better quality version.

Next question is as I am new what would you advise me to get for shooting it and where is the best place to get bits from. Anyone know what size caps these take? and what size ball is best? I intend to get the wonder wads instead of using grease, I notice there is a company called wads incorporated selling cheaper wads than wonder wads that they say give better performance and are cheaper, does anyone have any experience with them?

I am going to use Tripple 7 powder for shooting so shouldnt need any solvents etc for cleaning but what would be a good lube to buy to treat it with after cleaning?

People shooting at the range seem to load the revolvers straight from the powder flask, how do you measure the correct load when your pouring from the flask?

Looking forward to getting it down the range and firing off my first cylinder, hopefully into the target!

does yours have the target sights at the rear or just the groove etc....i use 14.5 gn weighed of 777 and these pistols take the .451 / .454/ .457 ball so try each one and see which one it prefers
    Last edited by loiner1965; 25-05-2011 at 07:28 PM.

The pistol could be the Pietta Remington 1858 competition as these have the silvered trigger guard.
    I have one of these, it needs .463 balls as the chambers are larger than the standard pistol. These also have the gain twist rifleing like the originals!