Thread: Newbie - HW40 pics (?)

Newbie - HW40 pics (?)

Hello all I am a newbie so introducing myself. I will try to post soem pics in this post but forgive me if they don't work out.

I haven't picked up an airgun for 25 years but I got the urge again recently so I popped down to the gunshop and asked what they recommended for back garden 10M target pistol shooting. No hesitation they recommended the HW40. I was not entriely convinced as it looks like something out of a Jason Statham movie rather than the old air pistol I remember from my youth.

Anyway I went ahead so here it is

http://i617.photobucket.com/albums/t...S/IMG_0774.jpg

It certainly is a nicely made thing especially for the price. The trigger action is great and all the parts are well built. The open, load and safety functions are very good. Reclosing the pistol when cocking it needs a bit of effort but you get used to it quickly.

One cool feature are the truglo sights, these use little fibre optics to pick up daylight and make a bright feature of the sights which is very handy for amining into a dark background, especially for a novice.

http://i617.photobucket.com/albums/t...S/IMG_0770.jpg

So I put 5 shots into a 10M target and it looked like this. (Just zoomed the little Canon in from 10M away, I was surprised it could pick this up).

http://i617.photobucket.com/albums/t...S/IMG_0772.jpg

Not an Olympic performance but I thought it was not too bad more or less out of the box. I adjusted the sights about 1/4-1/2 turn on both elevation and windage which needs a screwdriver but it is easy to do and a positive action.

It is a nice gun and I am sure I can improve with practice. Nevertheless I can see me changing it for something a bit more like a "match" type pistol in a while.

Cheers and I hope to stick around in this forum and learn something. (Just previewed the post and it looks like you can't embed pics in it).

Jim