Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Match pistol to start with?

Question Match pistol to start with?

Hi,

I started shooting 10m air pistol recently. I'm thinking of buying some s/h pre-recharged pistol if I can find one for a reasonable price. But it is inconvenient with club pistols because I you have to wait for duty officer to show up and you can't always shoot the same gun. So I'm wondering will it make sense to get something cheap (co2/spring/?) while and keep watching for a better alternative?

Any advices/recommendations regarding that or should I stick to the club guns instead?

Regards
    Oleg

Match pistol

Hi Oleg

You are probably right to want a recoiless pistol for match shooting - and that rules out most springers - though some older FWBs are still around and bvery accurate. You don't necessarily need a pcp, you could consider a single stroke pneumatic which might turn out cheaper (to buy and run) until you progress to a top gun. I know several people who started witha Gamo compact (not too expensive new and I have seen them under 100 pounds secondhand). the FAS 604 is a great pistol and they are advertised here from time to time (expensive new not so bad secondhand - apparently they can have problems with seals, but I bought one seconhand and have had no problems - it is far more accurate than me and has a fantastic trigger)

I'm sure other members of the board will have plenty of advice on pcp's and CO2 guns for you (I think there are a couple of serious CO2 guns - Rhom ??)- but the sorts used for action shooting - CP88, Colt 1911, Beretta 92, SMith and Wesson etc - wouldn't cut it as 10M target pistols)

Cheers

Jon

Tau 7, Co2, GREAT value, GREAT shooters!
    Old morini 162E's arent that expensive, about E400ish. Dunno what yr budget is?
    The IZH61, also very good buy (pneumatic pump)
    Also, every older Walther, FWB, steyr co2 pistol. But remember, the cilinders wont be in test anymore, and older seals are prone to leak, unless revised.