Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Advice on loading my .44 Rogers and Spencer

Advice on loading my .44 Rogers and Spencer

Hi All,

I'm new to BP shooting and have a shiny new Rogers and Spencer in .44 and have a few questions:

1) What's the loading procedure that everyone uses?

2) What diameter of lead balls should I use?

3) What powder charge should I use? I have Triple 7 powder.

4) I don't want to go down the route of using grease so what wads should I buy.

5) What additional/essential equipment do I need, I have powder, powder flask and RWS percussion caps?

6) Do I need any specific cleaning kits/solutions or do I just go with removing the grips, placing it in hot soapy water and then rinse off with boiling water?

Thanks in advance of your help.
    Last edited by parabellum; 14-11-2011 at 02:17 PM. Reason: Spelling

2= .454 balls
    3= 17 to 20 grns by volumn should be sweet. always remember to take off 17% from BP volumns
    4= wads are costly so I use filler, the only lube I use is to alox coat my balls.
    5= a capper is nice but not essential.
    6= I dont take the grips off every time. flip the cylinder out and put it in the sink, pour boiling water down the barel and let it flow over the cylinder, nylon bristle brush round the frame, dry it and spray with WD40. nipples out of cyl quick scrub, copperslip the nipples and put then back spray whole thing with WD40 and wrap it in a cloth for storage.