Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: HFT tactics

HFT tactics

Well, I am a newbie to this event and trying to get my head round the rules.

I understand that once you have set your rifle up, you are not permitted to touch your scope throughout the competition. Surely if you have targets from 8 - 40 odd a lot of the targets will be compromised.

What's the best distance to set up at ?
    Weihrach WH100 .177, MTC Viper Optics, 5 String Barnes & Mullins Banjo & Wenonah Open canoe.....
    IDEN FERNS CLUB MEMBER

Depends on scope & personal preference, with the mag on 10x I used 23 on my MTC, 20 on my Nikko Sniper & hawke SR 6 was about 30 IIRC. You have to try to find a happy medium, 8 will nearly always be blurred on 10x mag & I used to have 45 just blurred in my MTC, nikko was to clear to have 45 like that. If you drop down to say 8 mag it will be less likely to be blurred dependant on the scope.

HTH
    Steve

Hi,
    I use an Eb sniper 10x42 fixed mag and have set the parralax to about 23.
    It can be useful for rangefinding beacause as the view begins to blur the target is about 12 or 40 yards going to full blur at 8 and 45 yards.
    It can be changed but thats how i like it.

You need to practice down the range to see what setup suits you and your equipment the best across all ranges.

Good luck

Chris

The Oaks SiHFT Winners 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016

I just can't see the killzones, what help do i need??
    SIHFT Winners 2011 - 2012 - 2013 - AND 2014....2015..2016...oh look back at green...running out of colours! Ha!

Quote Originally Posted by blackscale View Post
    Specsavers
    Making waves since 1971.

Seeing your targets is dependant on the depth of field (DOF) of your scope,
    the better the DOF the more targets you see clearly. Unfortunately these scopes
    cost quite a bit. Normal affordable scopes like hawke, mtc, falcon etc perform quite adequately.