Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How much power?

How much power?

Hi All,

I'm a pest control officer for the council. I have used air rifles for many a year but have recently found the need for a pistol to dispatch rats caught in a live catch trap. What is the minimum FPS I would need to kill a rat from 6 inches. I would think it wouldn't be much. The council is skint so my boss told me to get the cheapest pistol that will do the job. Any advice is welcome.

Cheers

Dave.

Ratcatcher would do the job nicely co2 power too

HW45

This will get the job done, spring powered no need to for any refills
    When you lose,don't lose the lesson

Aardys is offline Formerly Old gun/git/ formerly oldcliff/formerly (watch this bleddy space)...
    a sheridan pistol in 22 is about the most powerfull pistol you can get
    loud as a canon though
    Getting Old

3 ft.lbs + to be safe and humane which gives you a vast choice really. HW70 break barrel maybe?
    Purbeck Field Target Club.

Thanks for the info guys. Much appreciated.

Pistol

Hi Dave,

I have a Record LP77 0.177 calibre break barrel pistol that was bought 20+ years ago.Only had a tin of pellets through it.

pics available if interested as I feel sure it would do the job and is sat in my safe doing nothing.

Roy
    Last edited by Roy D.; 26-12-2011 at 11:17 AM.

and there was i remembering being told some where that it was illegal to hunt with a pistol.

any one shed some light on this issue?

Hi, its not to hunt with its to humanely dispatch the rats caught in a live catch trap.

cheers

Dave,

Quote Originally Posted by daystateman View Post
    and there was i remembering being told some where that it was illegal to hunt with a pistol.

any one shed some light on this issue?
    It's not illegal to hunt with a pistol, just not humane, accuracy and power issues, and is therefore discouraged.

Discussion of hunting with pistols is not allowed in this section of the forum, probably what you're thinking of.