Thread: 10m match pistol beginner

10m match pistol beginner

Hello
    I am a beginner to 10m match pistol and I need some advice on which pistol to buy. I am looking at second hand and I am aware that everyone has a different view and that it's about how it feels in the hand. I have been looking for a FWB mod65/80 and someone else suggested a FAS 604, I have also seen a 2nd hand Walther LP300 which may just be in my budget.

The Walther LP300

Rutty

The FWB65 & 80 are superb pistols (I have a 65 and wouldn't swap it for the world) but if I were in any way serious about 10 metre match I'd go with a more modern PCP.

Whatever you go for, buy second hand; that way you won't lose much, if anything, if you decide it's not for you.

We have a club member selling his LP10 as he has to give up competition shooting for a while.

The pistol is silver with one silver barrel and one blue barrel - I have shot it myself and it is every bit as good as my new LP10, and it shows you what you can get s/h when compared with new prices.

The Steyr LP10 is one of the most popular 10 meter target pistols, and if you can pick one up as good as this for less than £800 you are unlikely to ever loose any money on it when the time comes to sell it.
    Last edited by zooma; 07-06-2012 at 09:28 AM.
    Rossendale Target Shooting Club. Every Tuesday and Thursday evening 7 - 10pm.

Hello
    Thanks for the advice, seems like I have a few things to think about before making a decision...
    R

Quote Originally Posted by RBS1 View Post
    Hello
    I am a beginner to 10m match pistol and I need some advice on which pistol to buy. I am looking at second hand and I am aware that everyone has a different view and that it's about how it feels in the hand. I have been looking for a FWB mod65/80 and someone else suggested a FAS 604, I have also seen a 2nd hand Walther LP300 which may just be in my budget.