Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What shall I buy

What shall I buy

Revised my FAC last week and it arrived in the post today with a empty slot for a .44 muzzle loading pistol so my question is what do you guys suggest I buy ?? I am really new to black powder but have read a lot on here and am leaning towards a ruger old army but does anyone have any other ideas , also roughly how much would a secondhand one be .

ROA is a good choice if you can find one and afford it.

2nd choice is probably a Remmington which are best in stainless again if available.

3rd choice is a Rogers and Spencer.

My last choice would be an open framed Colt.
    “If a cricketer, for instance, suddenly decided to go into a school and batter a lot of people to death with a cricket bat, which he could do very easily, I mean, are you going to ban cricket bats?” :- Prince Philip said after Dunblane

rao

my ROA is on ticket as 45,you may have a job finding one as a 44,
    you may get lucky,T

I'm in the same boat, just waiting for the variation to go through

One of my friends at the club has an Old Army and it's a lovely bit of kit, but then it should be for the amount it set him back. I'll just be going for a basic Remington 1858 New Model Army revolver, stainless if I fancy pushing the boat out.

Remington new will cost around £240 and the Ruger Old Army is around £500 second hand.

RAO

if the old armys are fetching that much,i may be tempted to sell mine,

cheers for the info guys , looks like I am going to have to get saving up my pennies after my hols , another little question that hopefully someone could possibly answer , my FAC states:- calibre .44 Type muzzle loading pistol , its the "muzzle loading" description that has me slightly worried , have I filled my application in wrong or does the revolver style pistols ie the ROA and remington come under the term muzzle loading

yep revolvers we can have are muzzle loaded