Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Powder Accuracy ?

Powder Accuracy ?

Hi can any one shed some light on this ?

Is it more accurate to weigh your powder, or measure by volume ?

Answers with explanations would be useful

I've measured out 777 by volume and found a difference in weight ?

I also haven't been shooting long enough to know if accuracy has changed between the two methods

Looking forward to your thoughts

Pete & Jane

All substances - note use of the term - used as propellants with a small p - like Black Powder, are designed to fill a container of a certain capacity. As such, they are measured by volume. However, the volume of 'stuff' also has a weight, which is measured in grains avd. So a case of a certain size, when it also holds the bullet, actually contains a measure of powder that measures, fer'instance, 70gr.

Soooooooo, what I have been doing for many years, is to initially weigh a BP charge on a good set of scales of one kind or another - your choice - pour into a powder measure, and then adjust it so that the charge is level with the top. That results in the volume of powder that you require, and also provides a repeatable weight by volume, of that particular grade of BP. I use the word stuff since BP is NOT a propellant, but a Class 1 explosive, unlike the numerous BP substitutes, that are classed as propellants.

In addition to requiring more application of contact heat to ignite them, hotter caps is the usual way, these substitutes also physically weigh LESS than an equal volume of BP, which is why you must reduce the amount that you use by the figures given in the manufacturers' data book.

Approximately 10% for any of the grades of Pyrodex, and 15% for Triple 7 and Cleanshot. So a 30gr load of BP in your revolver will occupy the same space when you use Pyrodex P, but it will only weigh 26-27gr. That same load in Triple 7 will only weigh 25gr, or thereabouts.