Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Problems with silencers

Problems with silencers

Hi all this is my first thread so be gentle ! . I've been shooting and modding air guns for over 25 years , and never had so many problems as I'm having with a crosman 2250 Xl I bought for my son , I zeroed the scope at around 20 yards for my son to shoot targets in the garden and fitted a silencer that came with it because it quite a loud gun for plinking in the garden , using my aa field target pellets the grouping was all over the place , so I tried my whisper silencer even worse ! , so I got a second hand logun silencer ,I used 1 of these years ago and found it extremely good on a pcp , yet again it was bad , so I re crowned the barrel just in case re zeroed with out a silencer and it cut a hole the size of a 5 pence piece at 20 yards with 30 shots also fitted a hollow extended probe ( clutching at straws ) . Then refitted the silencer ! And shots all over the place 4 inch group if lucky ! . Even tried rws hollow and some other pellets and no difference. Can almost see the pellet swerve out of the barrel when the silencer is fitted ? . Please help has anyone else experienced this or know of a silencer that works on this gun with out effecting accuracy .

More than likely the alignment of the silencer to the flight path of the pellet from the barrel is off and the pellets are clipping either part of the silencer internals or the exit hole of the mod. Give the mod a shake and if it rattles or lead bits fall out then you know for certain it's shaving your ammo. If this is not the case then still have a look at the exit hole anyway and see if you can see signs of any impacts, or fire a pellet into a medium which won't damage the shot pellet and inspect the expelled pellet for damage.