Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pellet catcher

Pellet catcher

Hi to everybody. I am new to this and would like some views on which is the best pellet catcher
    and a good way to deaden the noise.

harvey_s is offline Lost love child of David Niven and Victoria Beckham
    Hi

I think theres more than one way to skin this particular cat
    I've seen plumber's putty in baking tins, sand traps, carpet tiles and all sorts...me, I use a study wooden box stuffed with rags and use a hardboard clipboard at the front as a target holder.

I use a sturdy cardboard box stuffed with rags and because it is the right size I can simply tape a piece of A4 paper on the front. The only sound is a pop as the paper is perforated by the pellet and a very soft thud as it buries itself in the rags behind
    AA TX200, HFT 500, AS400 .22
    Daystate Grand Prix & Mk3
    Parker-Hale/PAX Phoenix Mk2: .22 & .177

Plumbers Mait from Wilco on tray is good as a back stop behind spinners etc (you can see where you're missing) but can be hard to work and messy if trodden into carpets! Any kind of box stuffed with old rags or paper and an aperture cut out the front is as good as anything for paper targets as it collects the pellets and is free. Knockdown targets and spinners are a dearer way to go but can last years and give feedback when hit. ATB. Pete.
    Knowledge is knowing a tomato is a fruit. Wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad.

argos catalogues and old yellow pages in the back of an old ammo case

I use a cardboard box filled with several layers of old carpet and with a steel sheet at the back, 'just in case'.
    The front of the box is fitted with a sheet of hardboard with a cut-out for targets and a bulldog clip to hold target in place - very successful.

I use a big block of lead. The pellets just stick to it making it bigger.
    hoplophobe

I've been using a cardboard box stuffed with thick magazines etc. to test my rifle indoors.