Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Umarex Walther PPK - Any tips?

Umarex Walther PPK - Any tips?

Hi chaps,

It looks like the missus has bought me a PPK for my birthday - only a couple of days until I unbox it!

Now, she hates guns. But, over the last few years, she has bought me a chrono, collected my HW40 for me. Bought me a 2240.

And now this.

Now, I've always loved the looks of them, but due to them shooting bbs, and not having a safe, wide open space to plink at cans etc., I'd always steered clear.

Apparently she's going to make some home made play dough (cheap) so I have a nice, soft and safe medium to point the stumpy little thing at.

I'm a total newbie to bb guns, so....

Can you only use steel bbs in these? I like the idea of lead bbs. Can they be safely used or am I being a total plonker in even considering them?

Not expecting any great shakes accuracy wise compared to all my other stuff, just up to about 6 yards plinking?

Any other tips re using / owning etc?
    THE BOINGER BASH AT QUIGLEY HOLLOW. MAKING GREAT MEMORIES SINCE 15th JUNE, 2013.
    NEXT EVENT :- August 3/4, 2024.........BOING!!

Yes, just BBs. As far as I can remember, needs to be steel as there's a magnet involved somewhere? Might be wrong, maybe a crosman.

But they're loads of fun and the blowback action gives added realism.

Cheers for that.

On my Ratties I always smear a small drop of Pellgun Oil onto the flat on the capsule. I assume it'll be good practice to do the same on these little puppies?

Having said that, when in fun mode, can't see capsules staying in there for very long!!!

If shooting in calm, deliberate mode, what sort of accuracy potential could be expected? Would 1" at 6 yards be dreaming?
    THE BOINGER BASH AT QUIGLEY HOLLOW. MAKING GREAT MEMORIES SINCE 15th JUNE, 2013.

Seem to remember that was around the group size, but a few fliers if you get a dodgy BB or shooting super-rapid.

Ppk/s