Thread: Airsporter built to a price ?

Airsporter built to a price ?

Just worked on two Airsporters today. The one was boxed and had one owner since 1957, a quality built rifle. The second one is more modern and I could not believe how different the quality of manufacture is, especially around the cocking mechanism design and parts. I am not an expert on the history of BSA, but at some stage it looks like they were cutting cost of manufacture of the Airsporter quite a bit. Any idea when the second one was produced ? Also is there any value to the full tin of Webley pellets that came with the old rifle?

Thanks, Baz

BE AN INDEPENDENT THINKER, DON'T FOLLOW THE CROWD

Totally agree with regards to the later build quality of the Airsporter. The early ones were sleek and built like the proverbial out house were as the later ones ......

If you post the serial number prefix one of the many gentleman on here will be able to tell you exactly when if was made, by who and what he had for lunch. (An hour like anyone else.)
    Same with the Webley tin - what street it was (or should have been) made on and when.

ATB
    Ian
    Founder & ex secretary of Rivington Riflemen.
    www.rivington-riflemen.uk

Look on Google, I found a site the first two letters before the serial number will tell the year eg GL is 1979.

edbear2 Guest
    The MK1 Airsporter was built very much like the prewar guns, with a one piece forged / drawn heavy barrel and integral breech area..A serious lump of metal, with a hand lapped loading tap. They started with the cost cutting (production streamlining) with the MK2, which had a parallel barrel brazed into the separate breech forging, and a rubbish (IMHO) rearsight in comparison to the MK1.

It all went downhill after that, with nasty diecast bits, rubbish taps and the like and even plastic sights which snapped if you looked at them funny, or dialled in a minute of a degree too much elevation