Thread: Pistol on a "budget"?

Pistol on a "budget"?

Hi all,

I'm new to the sport and only got myself a Hammerli Black Force 800 Black Out kit last week. I actually was looking to buy a pistol, and Dan Wesson pellet revolver was in my sight. Now that I have spent the dosh on the rifle, I found myself still itching for a pistol!

My budget is now limited and am looking at the Crossman Vigilante or 2240. I also looked at the Remington 1911 with blowblack. Still have the Dan Wesson in my mind and the SW 586 also. I would also consider the Gammo P25. Essentially what I'm looking for is a fun gun that I can shoot target with (not just plinking, but actually hitting paper target properly), and maybe let me kids have a go under very close supervision. Top of my list are the Vigilante and 2240 at the moment, but I am open to suggestions.

Thanks.

Adrian

Hi Adrian and a very warm welcome.

Crosman 2240. Fantastic value for money. If a single shot pistol fits your requirements, it ticks so many boxes...cheap purchase price, sturdy, very easy to work on/customise, powerful, accurate and a whole modding community out there. Check out the UK sites of G-Mac and SD Custom Designs. Also the US sites like Airgun Artisans.

As regards the Vigilante, I'd like some information myself on these, as I'm fancying one, so would welcome any feedback from owners on these.

Have you looked on the Pyramyd Airguns site? Quite a few video reviews on there, including the Vigilante.....
    THE BOINGER BASH AT QUIGLEY HOLLOW. MAKING GREAT MEMORIES SINCE 15th JUNE, 2013.
    NEXT EVENT :- May 4/5, 2024.........BOING!!

I've owned the S&W 586. It was very good, and capable of getting 10 shots in the black at 10M.

Some say the older gloss-finished version was better made than the newer matt-finished ones...

And welcome to the BBS, Doctors

Smile

Thanks guys.