Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 308

Hi all, is it possible to buy different weight 308 bullet heads so I can work out a good weight/ load for my rifle or do you have to buy them by the hundred and keep altering powder weight etc?

Not that I know of, but threads like this will usually generate offers of a few to try
    Do nothing, achieve nothing

There IS one dealer who will sell bullet of different weights in tens, to make the job of sorting out a good load easier and cheaper, but right now I can't recall who it might be.

Are you a hunter or a paper-puncher? There is a LOT of difference in bullet design between these two elements of shooting. Target type bullets you can buy any amount, but expanding bullets are all counted on your FAC, and only those folks with an appropriate certificate can buy them.

You sound as though you are new to reloading - might that be the case?

Best

tac

Thanks for the replies,
    Yeah tac I'm new to reloading and trying to work a good load for my tikka heavy barrel it's only for target shooting I'm using sierra hpbt at the moment any help would be appreciated.

Quote Originally Posted by Chopper5 View Post
    Thanks for the replies,
    Yeah tac I'm new to reloading and trying to work a good load for my tikka heavy barrel it's only for target shooting I'm using sierra hpbt at the moment any help would be appreciated.
    'kay. What weight bullet are you using right now, and what kind of results are you getting/expecting to get?

Got a reloading set-up yet?

Lots of information here on doing just that.

Got any reloading data handbooks yet?

That's the first step.....

How far do you target shoot? Short range - up to 500-600m, or F-TR type shooting?

tac

Hi tac yeah I've got a reloading manual and all the necessary equipment but was wondering how much the different weight bullets would affect accuracy I'm using 168grain Sierra with lapua brass.