Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Anyone re barrelled an Airsporter?

Anyone re barrelled an Airsporter?

I have a .177 mk 5 Airsporter (in amongst a collection of Airsporters and Mercury's) which has some pretty bad corrosion in the rifling, and was thinking about putting it in the lathe and cutting off and boring out the old barrel, and having a go at fitting another. My problem will be the fitting of the barrel up to the loading tap area and ensuring good alignment and seal and fit for the tap. Anyone got any thoughts or experience doing this?

My initial idea is to use an end mill to bore the old barrel out in the action, just short of the loading tap, and then align the new barrel bore to the action hole in front of the tap, before brazing.Hope this makes sense.

It is a spare action and not a complete gun so I dont have much to lose, and I am an engineer by trade so I dont find anything like this daunting, just interested to see if anyone has done anything similar or got any ideas. I know a few on here build the older BSA under-levers from parts, and heavily modify, so thought I would enquire.
    BASC

Hi Dean

If you used a 10mm or 11mm OD barrel liner then this method would appear to be the most straight forward way of doing the job :-

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=XZ7sQya7tyk

You could just profile the end of the barrel liner to fit the tap before glueing it in.

All the best Mick

edbear2 Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by T 20 View Post
    Hi Dean

If you used a 10mm or 11mm OD barrel liner then this method would appear to be the most straight forward way of doing the job :-

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=XZ7sQya7tyk

You could just profile the end of the barrel liner to fit the tap before glueing it in.

All the best Mick
    Parkers (Parker Hale) used to offer this service for the service rifle and small bores (parker rifling);

http://www.rifleman.org.uk/A.G._and_...rker-Hale.html