Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Coburn's mystery 'Hiki'... anyone know what the hell it is?

Coburn's mystery 'Hiki'... anyone know what the hell it is?

First Phoenix fair, and i happen to be chatting at a stand when Mr 'COBURN' of this fair board turns up with a mystery rifle.

I took pics which coburn and I have chatted over, and i offered to email them over so he could have the fun (well-earned) of posting up a 'anyone know what the hell this is?' query.

Having looked through the pics again this morning i studied The stamp on the RHS of the stock, and LHS of the spring/air chamber. They should be recognisable.... just don't know what as yet.

Both show a shield topped with a crown, flanked either side by spread wings sprouting from the shield:
    • In the metal version it is easier to see the shield contains the word 'Hiki' set diagonally in the same hand-written script as it appears solus on the butt.
    • The metalwork stamp has shorter/different text: Looks like 'TORVALD'.
    • The Wooden stock stamp (i think) shows "TORV.VEEVE", BUT the second word could be VEFVE?

Nothing shows up on searches. Hiki is a modern slang term in japanese (discounted), but TORVALD is a Danish name. However, nothing obvious results in searches (i've tried under vintage guns, emblems, flags, mottos, etc) for Danish, Swedish, Hungarian, Norwegian, Austrian....etc.

Anyway - PICS:
    http://i296.photobucket.com/albums/m...psfhkkjodb.jpg
    http://i296.photobucket.com/albums/m...pshp8h4b1j.jpg
    http://i296.photobucket.com/albums/m...psmofqefc4.jpg
    http://i296.photobucket.com/albums/m...psxmulxcqh.jpg
    http://i296.photobucket.com/albums/m...psbeug5qqc.jpg
    http://i296.photobucket.com/albums/m...pssqjbatzy.jpg

...and THIS is probably where Garvin trips in with a website he's already built unbeknown to us with over 100 pics he's already collated or taken on this hitherto unknown make...