Thread: Which co2 pistol

Which co2 pistol

Hi I am looking to be competing in iron plate competitions but would like to know if either any of these pistols are up to the job. Umerax 1911, CP88, 92FS. Any advice would be appreciated.

toysteam

harvey_s is offline Lost love child of David Niven and Victoria Beckham
    Hi
    I'm by no means an expert on iron plate shooting, but from what little I've read I believe the Umarex Colt 1911 and S&W 586 are popular choices (I've no idea if the 10 shot mag of the 586 gives an advantage over the 1911's 8 shots).
    I've owned a Umarex 1911 and hated the grip safety (which can be pinned) and trigger pins that worked loose blocking the action.
    However, I still own the S&W with a Beattie holster which says where my preference lies...

Not sure about the CP88 although it's seems OK to shoot and similar to my old 1911.

I've not shot the Beretta model although it does have a bit of a reputation for having a heavy trigger.

Hope that helps and hopefully an IP shooter will offer a better insight for you...

Good shooting whatever you decide on
    Harvey

HI mate welcome to the forum..
    I have a few questions for you, where will you be doing the iron plate competition and what are their rules, how many targets? Under time limit? What's the shooting distance? What guns will they let you use? Pellet? 4.5mm BB, 6mm BB's?

Once I know all those I can help better.....

But just to quickly answer, I have the umarex Beretta 92fs, I think it's a great gun. But I choose true semi auto pistols over it to do IPAS with..

I have the umarex 1911a1 as well and if I'm honest I don't like it for a few reasons. Out of the box the grip safety feels awful in your hand still and crunchy so unless your willing to strip it down and work on it, it's not comfortable to shoot.. Plus the two peice trigger feels and looks rubbish..