Thread: 204 Ruger and IMR4064 not enough case capacity

204 Ruger and IMR4064 not enough case capacity

Tried to reload some 39 GRN SBK today with IMR4064. My manual and the IMR Website say to use between 25.2 to 27.2 grains and a COL of 2.250 However even with the bottom load there is too much powder in the case to seat the bullet to the correct COL, got to 2.300 then the cases started to crush. Tried Hornady and Norma brass both had the same issue. I calibrated my scales and Vernier also as a check and they were fine. Has anyone had similar issues?
    Last edited by Spanner.; 06-08-2016 at 04:37 PM.

How is the case crushing when you're bullet seating? That sounds like a die adjustment problem (die screwed way too far down) rather than a too much powder problem.

Pushing the bullet down and swelling the case into a rim at the base of the neck. I set it up as per the guidelines and have adjusted in small increments, I have been reloading various calibres for quite a few years and never had an issue like this. I can see when I put a bullet next to a case to the depth it should be it is encroaching onto the powder layer. I have tried new and used cases (neck sized). Trying to seat a bullet into an empty case to prove it is the powder results in the bullet dropping into the empty case.

Quote Originally Posted by Spanner. View Post
    Pushing the bullet down and swelling the case into a rim at the base of the neck. I set it up as per the guidelines and have adjusted in small increments, I have been reloading various calibres for quite a few years and never had an issue like this. I can see when I put a bullet next to a case to the depth it should be it is encroaching onto the powder layer. I have tried new and used cases (neck sized). Trying to seat a bullet into an empty case to prove it is the powder results in the bullet dropping into the empty case.