Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: .58cal loads???

.58cal loads???

Hello everyone, A few years ago I inherited a very nice bernardelli copy of a percussion 58cal 1841 mississippi that's smoothbored.I'd love to be able to shoot targets with round ball but it's impossible to get into a club where I live so can anyone help me out with recommending black powder shotgun load recipies for it.I'm new to BP and see a lot of conflicting info on the Web and and find it even more confusing when people argue about measuring in grains,drams,volume etc.Also does anyone know of any shops that stock black powder near Chesterfield?

Hi. Have a chat with your local gunshop. If they have a trade account with Lee or Lyman they can order a bullet mold for you. You can see them on that bays .com website. Most gunshops will stock black powder.

Could be worthwhile considering pyrodex as a propellant (no need for a black powder licence) and later on if it lives up to expectations go to the expense and "hoop jumping" of a black powder licence.

Regarding loads I would suggest contacting the Muzzle Loaders Association of Great Britain.

Make sure that whatever recommendations you get are for single round ball / smoothbore and not "shotgun" load, and start light and work up.

There is also the can of worms of licencing if your gun is on a shotgun cert!

Cheers

The guru of anything bp is bill Curtiss
    He says smoothbores can be quite accurate but needs a good stiff charge of bp .
    We are talking anything from 90 - 120 gns
    He reckons a big felt disc of around 10mm thick then place loose fitting ball with a dollop of lube plus another equal sized disc on top .
    Push this down altogether on top of your chosen powder weight.
    This should slide down easily and not be a struggle.
    Please clarify this load with more experienced bp shooters as I do shoot bp cartridge and not musket.