Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 50 Bore pistol

50 Bore pistol

Hi All I'm new to breach loaders and have a question. I now have a 50 bore percussion pistol supplied with a bag of shot .40" diameter. the bore of the pistol is .48", Am I missing something. Any help would be appreciated. Regards Daveh.
    If you dont do it today, you might not be able to do it tomorrow!

Turnup is offline Dialling code‎: ‎01344
    40 thou patch?
    True freedom includes the freedom to make mistakes or do foolish things and bear the consequences.
    TANSTAAFL

Sorry please read "muzzle" for breach

Hi Turnup, thanks for the info, its easy when you know how! Regards Daveh

Is it rifled or smooth-bored?

Your answer matters.

A lot.

tac

Smooth bore, Why? Daveh

Turnup is offline Dialling code‎: ‎01344
    c'mon Tac.....drop the other shoe. In was hoping to learn summat here.
    True freedom includes the freedom to make mistakes or do foolish things and bear the consequences.
    TANSTAAFL

The load for a smooth-bore pistol differs dramatically from that of a rifled gun.

That's all I'm saying until my question is answered.

Oh, and advising the OP to get ahold of the Lyman BP manual.

tac
    Last edited by tacfoley; 19-09-2016 at 07:57 PM.

Hi Tac , I said smooth a few days ago, Regards Daveh

Quote Originally Posted by daveh View Post
    Hi Tac , I said smooth a few days ago, Regards Daveh
    My response was really a resplone to a post asking why I'd made a point of it, not ignoring your post advising us of the kind of pistol it was.

A smooth-bore pistol requires a considerably heavier charge to shoot accurately than a rifled gun - THAT was my point.

A fifty or sixty grain load of FFg in a rifled pistol is going to be lot less fun than the same load in a smooth-bore - maybe you don't mind excessive recoil?

tac