Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: BSA mercury

BSA mercury

I have a BSA mercury that is well used, but operational. A few cosmetic bumps and scuffs.

Are there any collectors of mercury's that might be interested in it as either a rough useable gun or a restoration project?

Not sure if direct sales are permitted in this section so if not please accept my apologies.

Would £75 be the right ballpark figure?

If more detail or pics are needed I'd be happy to oblige.

The serial number starts with Z, from what I can find on knibbs website that makes it 1971 to 1973 if that helps.
    Last edited by yorkiets; 08-12-2016 at 04:58 PM.

Ok, I guess that's a no.

Plan B.

I've never done anything with old BSAs before. Is there anything special that I need to be aware of before I start to refurbish it?

Thanks in advance.

Near Wimbledon, SW London, or Lusaka, Zambia
    Right ballpark

they are very simple. Do the usual trick when replacing the piston seal o-ring or using a slightly smaller one than std, and the original is too tight.
    Always looking for any cheap, interesting, knackered "project" guns. Thanks, JB.

Airsporterman is offline Makes Scrooge look Happy and Generous!
    Moving target, nr Blyth, God's Northumberland
    Good buy for someone wanting to do a re-furb!
    Simple and great old rifles!

I still have my Mercury to refurb - have a nice .25 cal barrel to fit to it too - should be a nice 'special' when I'm done! (If indeed I ever get to do it before I'm 'done'! )

(probably not a good time of the year for selling anything mate - Christmas etc! )

ASM
    I am a Man of La Northumberlandia, a true Knight and spend my days on my Quest (my duty nay privilege!) and fighting dragons and unbeatable foe, to right the unrightable wrongs, to bear with unbearable sorrow and dreaming my impossible dreams.

Quote Originally Posted by Jon Budd View Post
    Right ballpark