Thread: My BSA Scorpion

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

My BSA Scorpion

I've been hunting with air rifles for approx 28 years and nearly always with .177. I got a Scorpion T10 in .22 about six months ago, I must say I'm very impressed with this gun. We all know the potential for pass through with .177, but on the whole ive been very happy with the calibre and will stay with it for longer range rabbits.

Now I have a permanent hide set up 30 yards from a sitty tree which attracts, Jackdaws, crows and pigeons, without getting into yet another calibre debate, what I will say is that this Scorpion in .22 is dropping everything, without any runners.
    I await the "hit em in the right spot and .177 will be just as effective" crowd. But this is my findings, at the moment I'm reaching for the Scorpion everytime.

We all, as responsible hunters try to avoid wounding any living creature, BUT there are times when it occasionally happens. I personally are finding hunting from my hide has so far (touch wood) been 100% one shot kills so far. The great man himself, JD (RIP) said in his opinion .22 was better for hunting. I'm starting to think that also.

THIS IS PURELY MY OPINION, OTHERS MAY VARY
    Last edited by Trumpetier; 15-02-2017 at 10:53 AM.

Well you've said it yourself you have a permanent 30 yard hide so there is no variation in distance , a .177 is more forgiving over different distances but when you using a .22 then thats when you have to do a bit more calculating to hit the spot. Personaly i dont mind which callibre i use so never get into the silly debates as to which is best as far as i'm concerned every callibre has it's merits.

Both will do the same at any given distance ,as long you know your setup and what you can do , i do shoot both

Dave, you're not supposed to advertised guns for sale in this section.

Hellequin is online now I used to be indecisive.....
    Quote Originally Posted by T 20 View Post