Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Help: Webley Premier seized up after introduction of neatsfoot oil

Help: Webley Premier seized up after introduction of neatsfoot oil

I have a 1975 Webley Premier Mk2 .22 air pistol. It has hardly been used since the '70s and I got it out today. It was working well but I thought I would introduce two or three drops of neatsfoot oil into the air transfer port, to lubricate the washer which, I think, had never received any oil since new. I worked it back and forth but it has now seized up and is impossible to cock.

I am not technically or mechanically minded.

Anyone any idea what could have happened? I thought the oil would assist the operation and ease the washer, which I thought might be a little dry. I am baffled.

If I use this oil in the transfer port of my vintage rifles, I am worried there be similar problems.

Andrew.

Would that have a leather seal, if it has maybe the oil has expanded it to the point where its stuck, maybe pour some white spirit into the transfer see if you can wash it out, long shot, otherwise pull the piston and reseal. If it's not leather then i haven't a clue, you sure it wasn't super glue?

Thanks butloaves. Yes, given it was 1975, I think it is certainly leather.

Perhaps you are correct and it has expanded but one would think the leather would have absorbed it without expansion, given that it was presumably in a similar position 42 years ago, when new.

Interesting idea re the white spirit.

Rgds
    Andrew.

I think your pistol has a PTFE piston seal...not sure if or how neatsfoot oil would react with PTFE but it sounds like you're going to have to strip it and have a look at the very least.
    blah blah