Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Parallel Tip Screwdrivers?

chris u'5 is offline I'm a dumbass, it's official!!

Parallel Tip Screwdrivers?

I was out with my HW95K yesterday and noticed that the action has become quite loose in the stock.

Obviously it should hopefully just be a case on tightening the stock screws but I was just reading an article on the Air Arms website that said you should always use a parallel tip screwdriver on stock screws to avoid damaging the screw.

Now to be honest I am an expert at messing up the simplest of jobs of jobs and have damaged screws before by using the incorrect size of screwdriver but I've never heard of these parallel tip screwdrivers so I was just wondering if you could tell me what the difference between these and a normal screwdriver and will it prevent me damaging the screws?

I really does bug me when I cause paint damage or burrs on screw heads so any advice of this would be really gratefully received.

I know it's a stupid question but I am a pretty stupid guy so go easy

Thanks as always guys.
    "Who's the only one here that knows illegal ninja moves from the government?"

Afaik

Not 100% but my understanding is that instead of having a constant tapering angle on the blade of the screwdriver from the shank to the tip, there is an area lading to the tip where both faces of the blade are exactly parallel. I guess this would improve the security of location in the screw head and reduce slippage and consequently burring of screw heads etc.
    prone position down!

I asked a similar question the other day on this thread:

http://www.airgunbbs.com/showthread....-screw-drivers

xbow is offline "Right a bit, left a bit............"
    We can judge the heart of a man by his treatment of animals.
    Rudeness is the weak mans imitation of strength. Eric Hoffer.

If I don’t reply to your comments it’s probably because you’re on my Ignore list.

harvey_s is offline Lost love child of David Niven and Victoria Beckham