Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Skan chrono faulty

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    worcester
    Posts
    569

    Skan chrono faulty

    Hi, does anyone know anything about fixing skan chrono's as skan will not touch them if it's an older model, there fix was to buy a new one with 5 year warranty.
    It's a pro 1 series 3 from 2004, it's only catching about 30% of shots, or giving ridiculous high readings of 1560 fps where should be around 780 fps or not catching anything. No lighting or alignment issues, and all shot from around a foot or more away. Run off power supply giving around 15volts. All shots were made with the polish chrono in front which recorded all shots.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    birmingham west mids
    Posts
    1,462

    Skan

    Martyn, have you tried cleaning/wiping the glass that is over the sensors in the diamond shape you shoot through. I had funny readings on mine a few times, found that the glass was very dusty on two of the bottom ones. Worked fine after cleaning gently, do not put to much pressure on them as they do not seem very strong may even be perspex.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    worcester
    Posts
    569
    Hi Marc, yes all cleaned I took covers off and cleaned inside and out.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Shebbear, N Devon
    Posts
    12,510
    Put a piece of cardboard over the exit to keep the sunlight out.
    www.shebbearshooters.co.uk. Ask for Rich and try the coffee

  5. #5
    secretagentmole is offline Worked 3 summers as a lift attendant in Blackpool
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    King's Lynn
    Posts
    8,927
    Buy a Combro!
    Oooh Look!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    doncaster
    Posts
    51

    Skan chrono

    It is funny; a lot of firms want us to buy a new one instead of a repair/upgrade. I had this with my TomTom sat nav.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    worcester
    Posts
    569
    Quote Originally Posted by Rich View Post
    Put a piece of cardboard over the exit to keep the sunlight out.
    I use it inside so no sunlight, also happens in all types of lighting also in dark.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    worcester
    Posts
    569
    Quote Originally Posted by secretagentmole View Post
    Buy a Combro!
    I have one of these also, and a chrony. All of which are cheaper and better than the Skan.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Parkgate, Neston
    Posts
    1,527
    Do you have fluorescent lighting on when using it? Iíve found thiscan often account for the silly reading at least, I think it maybe to do withthe frequencies the chokes in the unit give out.
    Donít confuse luck with ability.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Lytham St. Annes
    Posts
    6,352
    Quote Originally Posted by martyn View Post
    I have one of these also, and a chrony. All of which are cheaper and better than the Skan.
    If they are so good, why are you even bothering with the Skan?
    Happy Shooting!! Paul.
    "We cannot solve our problems with the same thinking that we used when we created them" - Albert Einstein.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    worcester
    Posts
    569
    Quote Originally Posted by Airsporter1st View Post
    If they are so good, why are you even bothering with the Skan?
    Because I have it and I would like it to work properly. Also it's set up permanently under the stairs and it fits nicely where I set up my guns.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Lytham St. Annes
    Posts
    6,352
    Quote Originally Posted by martyn View Post
    Because I have it and I would like it to work properly. Also it's set up permanently under the stairs and it fits nicely where I set up my guns.
    So how are the others better than a (functioning) Skan then?

    Fact is they all have their plus points. Your sweeping statement that the others are 'better' clearly doesn't hold water.
    Happy Shooting!! Paul.
    "We cannot solve our problems with the same thinking that we used when we created them" - Albert Einstein.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    worcester
    Posts
    569
    Quote Originally Posted by Airsporter1st View Post
    So how are the others better than a (functioning) Skan then?

    Fact is they all have their plus points. Your sweeping statement that the others are 'better' clearly doesn't hold water.
    I never said they were better than a (functioning) Skan. They are better than the Skan I have, that's why I was asking if anyone was able to fix it. Looks like it a bin job.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    manchester
    Posts
    6,247
    Buy a Combro or one those new Polish Chronos.

    A.G

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Bedford
    Posts
    624
    I had the same problem with mine until it stopped recording any shots !

    Turns out the electrics inside corrode and chances are need completely replacing, it's not a cost effective job for skin, cheaper to replace than strip and replace.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •