Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Magpies

Magpies

Good afternoon to you all,

I'm looking for some clarification. We have hens in our back yard. We collect around 5 eggs a day. For the last few weeks the eggs have been low only 2 maybe 3 eggs. My wife has noticed that some eggs have been broken. I know we have issues with rats, which I keep under control with an air rifle. However earlier this week I noticed 10(ten) magpies in the garden hanging around the entrance of the chicken run. Where do I stand on shooting magpies. I fear they are taking my eggs or at least upsetting the hens. I have spoken to both neighbours and they do not mind them being culled. Any advise would be appreciated.

Thanks

Stewart

Shoot them whilst you can. They are very smart and will soon wise up to you.

Not that I'm an expert but not sure that magpies worrying your chickens is covered by the general licence.

https://www.gov.uk/government/public...age-or-disease

I do, of course, stand to be corrected.
    Whether you think you can or think you can't, you're probably right.

Quote Originally Posted by Carcrash View Post
    Shoot them whilst you can. They are very smart and will soon wise up to you.
    Plus 1
    ,AA , Magtech , Arnie, Sako, Ruger . plus the others .

Yes you can just stay within the law ie discharging a near a public highway and safe back stops and pellets must not leave you land im sure you no it--- if they start to wise up try a Larsen trap

If as you say your neighbours are fine, then personally I would shoot the bloody things.

Chicken eggs are classed as a crop, shoot them
    Falcon Prairie CS.22 Huntsmans .20 Theoben .20 & .22 FAC

Have you tried all other methods of discouraging them?

Yes your allowed to shoot them but I'm pretty sure you have to try other methods too.

Quote Originally Posted by bighit View Post

Yes your allowed to shoot them but I'm pretty sure you have to try other methods too.
    What about dynamite? Would that be a good deterant?!!