Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: The Webley & Scott Vulcan Air Rifle -- A Vox-Pop History

Gareth W-B is offline Retired Mod & Airgun Anorak Extraordinaire

The Webley & Scott Vulcan Air Rifle -- A Vox-Pop History

Hello all. Over the last few months there have been several threads running about the Webley & Scott Vulcan. Coupled with the many info p-m's I have received regarding my posts on said threads (I can never resist these lol ), I have cobbled together an amalgam of my posts on the subject as follows. I am far from an expert, however, but hope you find the following interesting?

Many minor mechanical differences separate the various Vulcan variants, but these were basically variations on the same theme. The more noticeable cosmetic differences however are as follows, inc. info on the Xocet and Stingray (Brum built ones that is), which were basically continuations on the Vulcan theme ...

Vulcan MkI: thinner barrel and slimmer stock than later models.

Vulcan MkII: fatter lacquered stock with pistol grip cup with white spacer, and a white butt pad spacer, too. The MkII also had/has a thicker 16mm barrel, and different front sights.

Vulcan MkIII: early MkIIIs sported same style stocks as described for the MkII, but later ones had plain pistol grip ends and no white spacers. These had the same style sights and barrel as the MkII, although later carbine K versions had threaded muzzle-breaks fitted which incorporated the front sight.

Xocet: a no thrills variant of the Vulcan (no safety and very plain stocks) with re-jigged breech so no gap apparent from above when rear sight removed.

Stingray: mechanically the same as the Vulcan but with finger grip flutes running length of stock, re-jigged breech so no gap apparent from above when rear sight removed, and a threaded muzzle break as standard incorporating a front sight.