Thread: BSA Cadets Minors Majors

BSA Cadets Minors Majors

Can anyone direct me to any resource here by link ( have tried to use the search function but tooooo many hits and nothing specific and life is to short ) , or elsewhere on Net re the BSA Cadets .
    Was until recently not ever going to that much of interest , but I do see their charm now , and recently see an auction with related ephemera coming up for sale , so this has prompted a relook .
    Basic info , when and where did the smoothbore get dropped to rifled barrel , was this in both calibres , and at the same time ?
    Was there any special options , as with Meteors with peep sights ?

Atvb
    Jimny4x4

Although not very powerful, these are also a favourite of mine and one of the most regular I get in to work on. I am not an expert on the history of them, the Cadet was introduced in 1945 and the Cadet Major the year I was born 1946. They are a solid well made rifle and I have enough parts now to make up four complete ones when I get the time. Of all the dozens I have worked on I have never seen a smooth bore barrel.

Baz
    BE AN INDEPENDENT THINKER, DON'T FOLLOW THE CROWD

pjbingham is offline My mother was flexible,but couldn't do Thursdays
    I believe the smooth bore versions were offered along side the rifled versions rather than before and were aimed at funfairs etc.
    With the exception of a prototype .22 I believe all barrels encountered on both models are going to be .177
    Cadets have fixed sights whereas the Majors rear sight is adjustable,often missing and costs the same as the rest of the rifle in some cases.
    In both cases there are earlier and later styles of stock. The later has a traditionally recognised stock bolt whereas the earlier has a screw in the rear of the trigger guard.
    DCL Dave on here makes both the piston & breech washers for these and very good they are too.
    Most spares are available from the usual places but the are pretty much bomb proof anyway.